A Geekery Wife

原本是在推上看到的推荐文件,保留了链接,今天阅读完毕,感觉甚好。

原始推荐语:《爱一个人就要了解他的职业之Geek版》,广大Geek们,如果遇到这样的女孩不要错过 – http://is.gd/edMfd – Reddit原帖下面有男性版本的回复同样很有爱 – http://is.gd/edMhZ

简短的感想:并不是要求另一半改变自己的爱好,而是寻求一种相互的理解和认识。并且在这个过程中,也在拓宽自己的视野。两个人相互这么做,就都有了提升。

“My husband is a programmer; I have no idea what that means.”

(在我自己翻译了部分段落之后,搜索的时候又发现已经有人做了全文的翻译,可以在这里察看阅读)

强烈推荐阅读原文 🙂

下面引用一些段落,并尝试做些翻译。

This always blows my mind. You’re married to someone, and you aren’t interested enough in the person to know anything about what they do with nearly 40-50% of their time, aside from their job title? Is it dangerous to draw a correlation between high divorce rates and the lack of interest that people have in their partners lives? It’s easy to fall in love with the “idea” of a person when you first meet them. But I think it would be hard to endure a lifetime of ups and downs, trials and tribulations and the everyday challenges that life throws at two people, if those partners didn’t have a truly vested interest in each other’s passions and life’s work. And if you don’t have even a basic understanding of what your spouse does with 40+hours of his/her week, then you’re not on a team.

……你和一个人结婚了,但是你除了知道他的工作叫什么,对占用这个人40-50%时间的事情却不感兴趣?把高离婚率和对另一半的生活缺乏兴趣这两件事联系起来这样危险么?在你遇到一些人的时候,爱上他们的“想法”很容易,但是我觉得,如果这两个人对对方的兴趣爱好以及激情缺乏足够的理解和兴趣,那么两个人很难承受由生活给予的一生中的起伏不定和各种试炼和苦难的。甚至可以这么说,如果你对你的配偶一星期要做上40个小时以上的事情缺乏哪怕是最基本的理解,那么你们不是一条船上的人了。

I’m not suggesting that you give up your own individuality and personal interests when you meet someone special. But open your mind enough to experience the world through your partner’s eyes.

我并不是让你在遇到某个特别的人的时候放弃你的个性和个人爱好。试着开放一下自己的思维,尝试着去以你的同伴的眼光去经历这个世界。

But I was generally engaged in his interests. And why wouldn’t I be? Falling in love involves getting to know a person. And getting to know a person usually involves talking about and understanding each other’s personal interests.

但是慢慢的我开始热衷于他的兴趣了。为什么不呢?和一个人相爱包括认识了解一个人。而认识和了解一个人通常需要闲聊和了解相互的个人兴趣爱好。

It should not be hard to be engaged in your partner’s interests. If it is that hard, you might want consider the possibility that you might be full of yourself. Even amongst my friends, I make a concerted effort to listen and understand their individual interests and passions. I always learn something new, and sometimes I get to discover a new passion for myself.

加入到你的同伴的兴趣中去应该并不难。如果你觉得难了,或许你该考虑一下你在“自以为是”这种可能性。即便是在和我的朋友相处时,我都努力集中精力去听去理解他们的个人兴趣爱好。我总是能够学到一些新的东西,一些让我发现我自己新的兴趣的东西。

Even if you don’t follow a similar career path as your spouse, being interested in their work and their hobbies can open up other doors for you. It broadens your world view and helps you to suck less as a human being. It’s about being part of a team that works together.

即使你不与你的配偶有一条相似的生涯路线,还是要对他们的工作和爱好保持兴趣,这可以开启你生活中别的门。这会拓宽你对世界的看法,帮助你摆脱作为“个人”的局限性。这和成为一个team并且合作的更好是一个道理。

So if you’re with someone new, find a way to be interested in the the things they like to talk about. And if you’re with someone old, rediscover the love of your life by asking about their work and listening to their response. Don’t feign interest.

所以说,你新结实一些人的时候,要尝试找到对他们总是在谈论的事情感兴趣的方法。而如果你和你的老朋友在一起的时候,通过询问他们的工作、听取他们的回答,这样可以重让你找回对生活的热爱。但是不要假装感兴趣。

I keep my eye into the world that I love, my finger on the pulse of it, and the work that results is always rewarding and fun.

我盯着我爱的世界,我的手指能触碰到它的脉搏。这样的结果总是让我感觉值得并且有趣。//【这个翻译的不是很好,待指点】【那个翻译的里面是这么翻的“我关注着我喜爱的世界,我能感受到它的脉搏,我所做的一直给我带来回报,给我快乐。”】

上面这篇文章被转载到reddit,引发了很大的一场讨论,甚至还出现了这篇文章的“男版”。感兴趣的可以移步到一下链接阅读:

http://www.reddit.com/r/programming/comments/d02be/my_husband_is_a_programmer_i_have_no_idea_what/

-EOF-

Leave a comment